Right now I’m working on a review of Propellerhead Reason 5/Record 1.5 for Keyboard magazine. I’m certainly not going to rip the lid off the review prematurely. After all, Keyboard will be paying me! So you’ll have to buy the magazine (probably the October issue) to get the details.

All I’m going to say now is … verrrry interesting. A couple of new modules, plus a new sequencer mode (Blocks) with which you can lay out the sections of a song in an efficient yet flexible way. The Kong percussion module is amazingly powerful, I’ll say that much.

Tomorrow or Sunday I’m going to lay down some cello tracks in Record and try fixing my occasionally dodgy intonation using the new Neptune pitch correction module. This is a sorely needed addition, because of the closed nature of Reason/Record. The program won’t host plug-ins (a situation that I don’t expect will ever change), so neither Auto-Tune nor Melodyne is available for pitch processing. I’m real curious to see how Neptune stacks up.

Leave a Reply

