Peerless

I know a few things about music, but there’s a lot that I don’t know. I’d like to be able to hang with a few people who are more knowledgeable than I, and who have time to share a few insights. I’d also like to hang with a few people who are on paths similar to my own, for mutual support and encouragement.

Nice idea. But it’s not going to happen in Livermore, I can tell you that. If there is anybody in town who even owns a synthesizer or a computer-based music production setup, how would I find them? There’s no store here in town that sells electronic music gear. There are no clubs where electronic music is played. There are no university music departments where it’s taught.

So tonight I’ve been poking around on the Internet, looking for long-distance peers. That’s pretty discouraging too.

The first thing I notice is that there’s very little discussion of the music itself. I watched a Howard Jones interview in which he talked about sending his Moog Prodigy in to be repaired, and read an interview with a couple of guys in Seattle who are building hardware. It’s easy to talk about gear.

I found a couple of sites with music I could listen to. Most of it bad, some of it not too bad. No idea who the artists are. A lot of the electronic music that I’m seeing on the Web is dance music. Dance music interests me slightly more than clipping my toenails.

I’m going to keep looking.

This entry was posted in music, technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peerless

  1. Brian says:

    I feel your pain. Electronic music has almost become synonymous with “house” or “trance”. I try to at least have a form and dramatic shape.

Leave a Reply

