Nailing Down Jello

Having dropped out of college in the Sixties (long story…) I have a recurring fascination with the idea of returning to school to finally get my B.A. Maybe even a Master’s. Why not?

The main reason why not: It would cost a whole lot of money. Tuition and living expenses for three or four years at UC would pretty much wipe out my retirement nest egg. A few years ago I tried going to Cal State EBay, but the drive is pretty awful, and the school itself isn’t much better.

Now, I can learn pretty much anything I care to learn, just by buying books and reading them. I’m an accomplished auto-didact. I don’t need to be a college student to learn about archaeology or calculus or the motets of Palestrina. On meditating about it, I’ve realized that I have two primary reasons for wanting to go to school: I’d love to be part of a community where intellectual accomplishments are valued, and I’d benefit from the structure.

Left to my own devices, I tend to wibble around like a mound of jello. I’m fascinated by this, that, and the other thing, but I tend not to stick with any of my fascinations for very long. If I try imposing a structure and goals of my own devising, I tend to change my mind and lose interest within a few days.

I like being creative and spontaneous, but I do much better when a structure is imposed from without. For 25 years I worked as an editor at a magazine. Every month, someone told me what to do and when to turn in the finished work. I had considerable freedom in how I did the work, and I could suggest my own assignments if I thought of something that fit within the parameters of the magazine. But those parameters were clearly defined.

For the past seven years I’ve been self-employed, but a big part of my work has been writing freelance magazine articles. I’ve also edited a few books on music technology. All of which has been well-defined, highly structured work with familiar parameters (not to mention a predictable reward — I get checks in the mail). As the music magazine business collapses like a tire driven over nails, I find myself needing a new structure, new goals.

I like to consider myself semi-retired, but semi-retirement has its down side. Oh, it’s nice to be able to wander into the barber shop at 10:30 on a Tuesday morning, as I did today. Nobody in line for a haircut at that hour but us geezers! But even when I’m 90 (and that’s still a long way in the future), I don’t think I’m going to enjoy being in charge of setting my own goals and creating my own structure. I’m just not very good at it.

This entry was posted in random musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

