Plugging In

This morning I hooked up the electric cello. Haven’t played it much for the past 18 months, since I quit the band I was in. It has a very nice sound — not as rich as a wooden cello, but pleasant. Having a high E string lets me play in the violin range with very little effort. (The inlaid position dots help too.)

Not sure what I’m going to do with it yet. Try to find another band? Maybe, maybe not. Band politics … don’t get me started. Nothing against the guys in the band I was in. They’re great guys, great musicians, and still my friends. I got tired of playing outdoor gigs at wineries, that’s all. I felt we ought to put together a concert, but the other guys favored a more casual, laid-backĀ approach.

It’s a cool instrument visually. It has no body: It’s just a rosewood/ebony plank with a pair of aluminum struts for knee braces and a flying-V headstock with all five tuning gears on one side. At every gig, I can count on someone coming up to me and saying, “What is that?”

Maybe I’ll start telling them it’s a really confused oboe. But first I need some gigs. That’s a story for another time.

This entry was posted in music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

